President's Report




You will have noticed in the Overseas Journal that a there is now a new Chairman of the Royal Over-Seas League, Sir David Brewer KG CMG CVO JP. I have sent a letter of congratulations to him from all Members of the League in Australia. Sir David was educated at St. Paul’s School, London (now Chairman of St. Paul’s Cathedral Council) and University of Grenoble, France, before joining Insurance Brokers Sedgwick Collins (now Marsh Ltd) who he was with for 50 years, opening offices in Japan and China. Awarded Best Global Insurance Broker in 2007. He is past Chairman of the China-Britain Business Council 2007-2013 (Hon. Treasurer 1991-2007). Sir David was an Alderman in the Bassishaw Ward of the City of London 1996-2010, Sheriff 2002-2003, Lord Mayor of London 2005-2006 and Her Majesty’s Lord Lieutenant of Greater London 2008-2015. He has Honorary degrees from City University, London Met University, University of Exeter and the University of Nottingham. He married Tessa Jorda, daughter of Enrique Jorda (President of the Chartered Institute of Linguists) in 1985 and they have two daughters Olivia and Gabriella and live in Westminster and have a home at Hellandbridge in Cornwall (past President London Cornish Association 2005-2013). Lady Brewer OBE was awarded the OBE in 2015 for her work as Chairwoman of the City of London Festival. Sir David has the Order of the Rising Sun from Japan 2006 and the Magnolia Gold Award from the Mayor of Shanghai 2006. He was appointed Commander of the Royal Victorian Order in the 2015 New Years Honours for “services as Lord–Lieutenant of Greater London”. He was made a Knight Bachelor in 2007 and a Knight Companion of the Most Noble Order of the Garter on the 18 May this year, which became effective from 23 April 2016.


Following the untimely passing of Roderick Lakin MBE last year, a new appointment has been made at Over-Seas House to the position of Director of Arts. Geoff Parkin received a B.Mus(hons) from the University of Birmingham  and a MMus from the Royal College of Music before starting his career as a professional clarinettist. He then joined the Royal Northern College of Music as Development Administrator before going to the Royal Academy of Music and then taking the job of Artist and Administration Manager at the Young Classical Artists Trust. In 2013 he accepted the position as Chamber Music Manager at the Royal College of Music before becoming Director of Arts in June this year at the League. We wish him well and look forward to welcoming him to Australia in the near future.


The Dean of Melbourne Dr Andreas Loewe held a special Festival Choral Evensong to celebrate the 90th birthday of The Queen. Members and friends attended and enjoyed a magnificent service on Sunday June 12 with the choir in fine voice and the congregation joining in with enthusiasm. Dr Loewe spoke of the Queen’s special qualities and her incredible service to the Commonwealth and Australia. The choir sang Psalm 32, The Magnificat and Nunc Dimitis by Stanley Vann and the Anthem by Ralph Vaughan Williams O taste and see and all sand God Save The Queen.
The CBCS also held a service at St. George’s Malvern on Sunday 5 June and for Commonwealth Day had the Consul for Malta speak at The Gables. Australians for Constitutional Monarchy held a very successful Black tie Dinner at the Melbourne Club with Emeritus Professor Geoffrey Blainey as guest speaker.


Congratulations to Jane Teasdale on her appointment as Vice-President of the Victorian Branch having been a member since 1959 and serving on Council for nine years.
Best wishes to Vice-President Jean Black on a special birthday and to becoming a Life Member of the League after exceptional service and being a member of the Council since 1989.


The production of Matilda at Her Majesty’s Theatre was brilliant and all who attended enjoyed the performance. The Last Night of the Proms at Hamer Hall had an excellent response and looks certain to be repeated next year. Soprano Nicole Car gave a stunning performance at the home of Lino and DI Bresciani and impressed all who attended. Victoria Day celebrations at the Town Hall on 1 July went well. Congratulations to Dr. Alan Finkel AO as Victorian of the Year.

jason president


HM The Queen

HRH Princess Alexandra KG GCVO

Patron Victoria
The Hon. Linda Dessau AM, Governor of Victoria

Chairman Australia & President Victoria
Jason Ronald OAM

Branch Secretary
Ron Williamson